Wednesday, February 28, 2007

XIX Agatha Awards

The nominees for the 19th Agatha Awards have been announced. So, I’m taking this time today to say congratulations to two friends:

For Best Novel, L.C. Hayden for her book Why Casey Had to Die
For Best First Novel, Karen MacInerney for her book Murder on the Rocks

Yea for both of them.

The Agatha Awards are under the umbrella of Malice Domestic, a nonprofit which holds an annual convention to salute traditional mystery books. And what is a traditional mystery book? Malice defines it as “mysteries which contain no explicit sex or excessive gore or violence; and usually (but are not limited to) featuring an amateur detective, a confined setting, and characters who know one another.”

If that sounds like the kind of book you like to read, then check out the Malice website for a list of the authors attending the May conference.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...